Wednesday, 5 March 2014

The Red Arrows

Seen here are the Red Arrows at RIAT 2013 performing the "Twister", which was a new manoeuvre for the 2013 season.

The Red Arrows, officially called the Royal Air Force Aerobatic Team, were formed in 1965 from the amalgamation of several other RAF display teams, and flew their first display season the same year. Initially flying the Hawker Siddeley Gnat, the team switched to the BAE Hawk T1 in 1979. The team originally flew in formations of seven, but from mid-1966 started flying some displays in formations of nine. The team officially increased in size to a nine aircraft team in 1968, allowing them to fly the perfectly symmetrical "Diamond Nine" formation. The team is currently based at RAF Scampton in Lincolnshire.

Since their formation, the team have have flown over 4,000 displays in 52 countries.

No comments:

Post a Comment